READER REVIEWS

*Updated March 27th 2014*

4.0 out of 5 stars Blood in the sand, February 23, 2014
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
Ok the zombie genre has been done to death but this was a good story despite. Mikhail Lema writes well and the story flows quickly. I do think more could have been done with the story. I received a copy of Plan Z Blood On The Sand free for review. I probably would not have purchased it for my self because as I have stated the subject matter is done for me. Lema left the ending open for another book and I will buy it because I did like the main character Cale. He was well developed and I want to know what happens next. For me that is the sign of a good books. It leaves me want more.
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, February 14, 2014
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
I love a good zombie book as long as there is more to the story than killing monsters.This one was a little different as this is told by a person who is in the military on assignment overseas. This man has made it his mission to get back home to his wife and child without really knowing if they are dead or alive. I like his tenacity, unrelenting desire, and laser focus to get to the ones he loves. You find yourself rooting for him to make it through the insurmountable odds of getting from Iraq to America all while fighting off zombies. I love this story of survival and can’t wait to read book two.

I received this book in return for an honest review.

 
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable story with fast paced action, January 23, 2014
By The Bookie Monster (Cape Coral, FL, US) – See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
The world is in a state of disarray in Z Plan: Blood On The Sand as news spreads quickly of a highly infectious, deadly disease coming out of Africa. A new strain of the rabies virus is turning the masses from normal, everyday people into walking dead cannibals, capable of immense violence and decimating the world’s population as we know it.Cale, our story’s main character, is deployed in Iraq, thousands of miles away from his wife and daughter. All forms of communication are down, cutting Cale off from the rest of the world. Minimal media reports are flowing through, showing widespread infection and chaos in the world and soon enough panic sets in. Out on a convoy operations mission, Cale and his buddy Zach notice civilians packed into their cars like sardines; traffic is backed up as far as the eye can see as the local inhabitants are attempting to flee the area for reasons unknown to Cale and his crew. Imminent danger is around the corner as terror soon becomes reality: the infection is closer than they think, and the dead are coming for them.

Z Plan by Mikhail Lerma was an enjoyable story with fast paced action and realistic human responses during the zombie apocalypse. Cale was a very likeable character and very friends and family oriented. The story had a main theme of brotherhood meets survivor’s guilt, which I loved. As Cale’s world crumbles around him, he’s left in a prison of his own thoughts, doomed to replay his actions and movements over and over again in his mind, constantly asking “what if” and wondering if his family is safe as he desperately tries to find his way back to America.

You find out early on that in the desert, there isn’t much to do in your free time other than play video games. It’s an important part of the story to understand how much Cale enjoys the video game Halo because my favorite part in the entire book was when Cale had to face the reality that the zombie apocalypse was happening right before his eyes. “This was real, it wasn’t like Halo” the author states, describing the sheer terror and surreal circumstances that Cale has to suddenly face. Z Plan is an adventure indeed, and I recommend this book to any zombie apocalypse lover; you won’t be disappointed.

The only parts of the book that I found repetitious and overdone, were the Romero movie references. Had the author left them out completely, it would have taken nothing from the story at all. Z Plan is a quick and fun read and I am excited for the next installment in the series!

http://www.bookie-monster.com

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Novel!, November 7, 2013
By Anna Dobritt “Ravenwyng” (Livonia, MI United States) – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
Very good novel! The character makes you really care what happens to him and how he deals with the zombies that now infest the world and his need to get home to his wife and child. Looking forward to the next book in the series.
 
5.0 out of 5 stars ATTENTION! WE HAVE A PERIMETER BREACH! ALL PERSONS REPORT TO ASSIGNED DUTY STATIONS! THIS IS NOT A DRILL! THIS IS NOT A DRILL!!, November 2, 2013
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
((Bookcases: attack, apocalypse, bond, regiment, regret, horror, memories, military-action, thriller, supernatural, soldier, suspense, action, unnatural , Zombies, death, guilt, suspense, emotional, mystery, survival, war))WELL,,

I must say this is very different from what I normally would read, being a Zombie book and I never thought in my wildest dreams I would be reading something like this, but I enjoyed it so much I just got locked into the story. Certainly took my breath away because how emotional it was in parts and, because it kept hold of my attention so much, I was flying through it whilst reading. Could feel for the soldiers and, I knew from the very first page just like I mentioned to Mikhail as I began reading this, I could sense the close bond that Cale shared with Zach, such a close friendship.

As per usual in all my reviews, I have to praise the author for such powerful and outstanding work. He has worked tremendously hard on this book and the writing is magnificent, making it such an easy read. Mikhail wrote this whilst he was actually deployed in Iraq and I can honestly state that this is what actually caught my eye to read his book, being Military, and I’m vastly impressed with him as an author and so am looking forward to reading Book two, Red Tides his next book.

Well done Mikhail, you have created something spectacular.

“you can’t save those who won’t be saved”
-. Mikhail Lerma

“Is that a chemical attack?”Cale shouted.
“I don’t know” Zach shouted back.

There’s an epidemic outbreak, people getting attacked by a virus. But then they come to realise that this is no ordinary virus, the infected are actually Zombies – the walking dead.

This is not your typical Zombie book, it’s one about real friendship, about that true bond you acquire whilst in the Forces. It’s all about survival and about the perspectives of a soldier fighting one war then suddenly having to fight another war that no one could ever anticipate

This book is full of action, drama and adventure. I would most certainly recommend to anyone that enjoys a good action thriller.

An unexpected war, will they all survive?

 
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, November 2, 2013
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Once I started it I had a hard time putting it down. I can’t wait for the second book in the series : )
 
4.0 out of 5 stars fun read, October 7, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
this is a great book. it is military style in background. i can wait for the next to come out!
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book., August 14, 2013
Now, this book was a fun read and I finished it in two settings. I wont put any spoilers in here, but this book had me saying “aw c’mon!’ a couple of times and I actually teared up in one part. I was angry as hell in others and laughed out loud at times. yes there were things that irked me, but what book doesn’t? Even World War Z ticked me off a time or two. But I loved the book and am eagerly awaiting the sequel.
 
5.0 out of 5 stars A zombie story that will keep you up reading all night!, May 16, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
I picked up this book on a whim…and I am so glad that I did. The author’s wife was posting information about Mikhail’s book on a zombie book FB page. Iwas intrigued and decide to download it to my Kindle from Amazon. This book was well written, full of action, and had loads of blood thirsty zombies. The author isn’t afraid to take risks and we meet lots of characters who leave the story rather quickly…and not in a pleasantmanner.I’m watching for book two of the Z Plan series that’s coming out this summer. I’m looking forward to continuing Cale’s story and am eager to meet his stateside family that he’s fighting so hard to get home to.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, April 20, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
Have bought a few, ok maybe quiet a few, zombie books and this one is in the top five. Never cried while reading one before but I’m a girl what can I say. Looking forward to the next.
 
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid zombie story, April 8, 2013
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
A good zombie story. Cale is a survivor of a zombie outbreak while he is stationed in Iraq. When things start going south, he and some others decide to go AWOL and try to make it back to their homes. The action sputters a few times, but eventually the story kicks into high gear. The book is a great setup for more stories in this series.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

By K. R. Schulteis (Wisconsin, USA) – See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Blood on the Sand (Z Plan) (Kindle Edition)
Disclaimer: The author and I are both contestants in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest. We are also members of aGoodreads group consisting of several other contestants in this same contest. I read and am reviewing this book as part of that group.Review:

Let me begin by saying I am not a zombie book fan nor am I a zombie fan. A relative gave me Romero’s Night of the Living Dead one year and I nearly shrieked and not in a good way. Let me say it again. I do not like zombies.

However, the premise of this book intrigued me enough to try and keep an open mind. It is told from the perspective of a soldier fighting one war and getting sucked into another no one anticipated. In a word, I sort of LOVED it.

Yes, there are issues; it’s not perfect. There is a lot of “head hopping” in the beginning. The author switches character point of view, sometimes even in mid-sentence it seemed, and this was very confusing in the beginning. I found myself having to go back to re-read sections just to figure out who was thinking what and I would have preferred not to have to work that hard. And we’re not talking War and Peace writing here. But if you’re expecting that, um…WHY are you reading a zombie book?

However, once I got past all of that, what I found was a surprisingly heart-wrenching tale that had me turning my Kindle’s virtual pages as fast as my fingers could click, always hoping against hope that Cale’s tale would turn out better than every desolate situation promised it would. I connected with the characters in a very real way, from the video game banter between a bunch of soldiers bored out of their minds, to the tense waiting as they geared up to face an enemy none of them were prepared for.

Watching Cale fall into isolation, trying only to get home, plagued by the terrible worry about what he’ll face when he finally makes it, IF he makes, and the terrible feelings of guilt over what he had to do to survive was a nerve wracking, emotional roller coaster ride I hadn’t planned on. And most embarrassingly, I cried. At a zombie book! That is NOT supposed to happen!

That’s when it hit me. THIS is why people like zombies. They represent the most frightening aspect of the human experience. Brother turning on brother, isolation, the drive to survive, and the ultimate realization that survival may be but a futile dream in the face of the unthinkable. Z Plan: Blood on the Sand delves into this fear in a way that draws the reader in until you’re there with Cale, travelling the streets of Tel Aviv as the undead hunt you, with only the hope that your loved ones are safe, because if they aren’t, then what have you been fighting for?

The entire tale is freaky! But in a good way. I may have to rethink my original opinion on zombie fiction.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, February 16, 2013 (Amazon review)
By Beth “Just Beth” (Chadds Ford PA)
Interesting read, the main character was real and the story held my attention from the first page and I am looking forward to the sequel!
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
5.0 out of 5 stars Short hook to a great book., February 8, 2013 (Amazon review)
By Vicki J. Lerma

As an older reader, zombies are not in my normal reading area. Blood on the Sand caught my interest because it was written by a soldier who had fought in Iraq. It included some of the military jargon, the abbreviated words used by the soldiers. What pleased me was Mikhail’s ability to describe what was going on so well that a person felt they were actually part of the page, and yet not covered with blood and guts that you would see in a movie setting.
I would highly recommend Z Plan Blood on the Sand, not only for the younger people who are so interestedcurrently in all things with the Zombies, but again even for the older reader. In fact I have already gotten several, mixed ages, group to buy and read. And we are anxiously awaiting the next offering of Mr. Lerma’s work.(This review happens to be from my grandma, just so you all know.)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Shari443 rated it 4 of 5 stars false (review from goodreads)
This was a very good apocalyptic book and I am looking forward to reading the next one.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Deena Nehring rated it 3 of 5 stars false (review from goodreads)
I am a huge zombie fan (although I normally don’t read zombie themed books). I decided to give this one a go after reading the first couple of pages. In general I liked this book and the story-line itself. I do have to admit, however, that at certain points I did find myself slightly confused and having to re-read certain paragraphs/sections here and there, due to the author’s usage of multiple POVs and/or the switching POVs midstream throughout the story itself. All in all, the story was interesting enough that it held my interest. And without giving away any spoilers, by the end of the book (it took me 2 days to read), I realized I was hooked and now actually look forward to reading its sequeal to see how the story ends.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
K. R. rated it 4 of 5 stars false  (review from goodreads, also posted on amazon)

Disclaimer: The author and I are both contestants in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest. We are also members of a Goodreads group consisting of several other contestants in this same contest. I read and am reviewing this book as part of that group.

Review:

Let me begin by saying I am not a zombie book fan nor am I a zombie fan. A relative gave me Romero’s Night of the Living Dead one year and I nearly shrieked and not in a good way. Let me say it again. I do not like zombies.

However, the premise of this book intrigued me enough to try and keep an open mind. It is told from the perspective of a soldier fighting one war and getting sucked into another no one anticipated. In a word, I sort of LOVED it.

Yes, there are issues; it’s not perfect. There is a lot of “head hopping” in the beginning. The author switches character point of view, sometimes even in mid-sentence it seemed, and this was very confusing in the beginning. I found myself having to go back to re-read sections just to figure out who was thinking what and I would have preferred not to have to work that hard. And we’re not talking War and Peace writing here. But if you’re expecting that, um…WHY are you reading a zombie book?

However, once I got past all of that, what I found was a surprisingly heart-wrenching tale that had me turning my Kindle’s virtual pages as fast as my fingers could click, always hoping against hope that Cale’s tale would turn out better than every desolate situation promised it would. I connected with the characters in a very real way, from the video game banter between a bunch of soldiers bored out of their minds, to the tense waiting as they geared up to face an enemy none of them were prepared for.

Watching Cale fall into isolation, trying only to get home, plagued by the terrible worry about what he’ll face when he finally makes it, IF he makes, and the terrible feelings of guilt over what he had to do to survive was a nerve wracking, emotional roller coaster ride I hadn’t planned on. And most embarrassingly, I cried. At a zombie book! That is NOT supposed to happen!

That’s when it hit me. THIS is why people like zombies. They represent the most frightening aspect of the human experience. Brother turning on brother, isolation, the drive to survive, and the ultimate realization that survival may be but a futile dream in the face of the unthinkable. Z Plan: Blood on the Sand delves into this fear in a way that draws the reader in until you’re there with Cale, travelling the streets of Tel Aviv as the undead hunt you, with only the hope that your loved ones are safe, because if they aren’t, then what have you been fighting for?

The entire tale is freaky! But in a good way. I may have to rethink my original opinion on zombie fiction.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Edgar rated it 1 of 5 stars false  (on goodreads)
The writing felt amateurish, the characters were flat and uninteresting. I stopped reading this book several times because it could not hold my attention.
(I have decided to post any bad reviews, along with the good. This is the first bad review I have received. I actually contacted Edgar to ask him if there was anything specific about the book he didn’t enjoy. He made some good points, but mostly he was bored with how realistic my characters were. Seeing as how my characters are mostly based on real soldiers, or at least what real soldiers are like, during a deployment, it didn’t surprise me. )
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, December 17, 2012 (Amazon review)
ByMimi Dobson

This is a good ol fashioned zombie tale. I’m a sucker for a military protagonist. Lots of action interposed with self contemplation. I recommend this book to any zombie fan.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Michael Flanagan rated it 4 of 5 stars false (review on goodreads, also posted on amazon)

This book builds up like a wave with a nice gentle swell and ends up smashing with fury upon the rock strewn shore. The author delivers all you expect in a book of this genre with a lot more added for good measure. I was drawn into the story and had to know what was going happen next so much that I read this book in two sittings. Overall a cracker of a tale and one that I recommend to all.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
glenda rated it 5 of 5 stars false (goodreads review)
I read this book in a day, because I simply couldn’t put it down. I was with the protagonist, Cale, the whole way, flinching, holding my breath, and cheering him on. If it had been a movie, I would have been sitting on the edge of my seat with my hands in front of my eyes… peeking through them, of course!
One of the things I loved about the story was that people behaved in ways that in my opinion, they quite likely would if they actually had to deal with zombies. Everyone is not a hero, people do think of themselves first, and make selfish choices. I love it! It made so much less predictable than many zombie stories, in that it wasn’t always obvious what direction things would go.I do have one issue with the author, however… when do I get to read the sequel?This author has written a great horror novel, and I can’t believe it is only his first. I highly recommend it to any fan of the horror genre, and see a bright future for Mikhail Lerma.

(This review is from my, now, editor. She read my book and posted this review before I ‘met’ her on goodreads.)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Sierra rated it 5 of 5 stars false (review on goodreads, also posted on amazon)

I just finished reading this recently published book that a friend wrote. I’m not just giving this book a 5 star rating because I know the guy. The stars are for how amazing this first installment of the Z Plan series was!

I personally love a good Zombie book. I think I’ve read enough of them that I could probably survive a Zombie Apocalypse! My interest in Zombies is what drew me to this book.

The time is present, the main character, Cale, is stationed over seas as a soldier of the U.S. Army. Cale and his buddies learn of a virus that has begun to spread, but think nothing of it because it’s pretty far away. This virus isn’t just any virus and has traveled alot quicker than anyone had expected. Their Army base soon becomes a war zone. As so now, everyone kind of know what Zombies are, but aren’t Zombies a work of fiction? Cale and everyone else soon realize what they’re up against…true, walking, un-dead zombies.

Some escape from the terror with Cale. They have plans to find a boat and get back to the U.S. As of now, there is no military according to them, it’s every man for themselves. There are un-dead everywhere. Cale looses some friends along the way. Becoming completely alone, when luck strikes him and he stumbles upon two young boys and a yacht. In the act of trying to save them and their supplies he becomes alone again and decides he still needs to get to land and back to his wife and daughter.

Among all this chaos, he can only hope that his beloved wife and daughter are still alive and that is what is giving him hope. His boat begins to have mechanical problems. Just when he’s about to give up hope, there is contact over the radio. The Egyptian Armed Forces have spotted his boat and are going to save him. There is still hope for Cale and hope that he will be united with his family once again. But who knows what could be lurking back in the states? Has the virus over-run home with the walking dead? I hope to find out in the next installment of the Z Plan Series!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Joanna rated it 5 of 5 stars false (goodreads review)
I’m not going to lie, my husband and I personally know Mikhail, so one would think I possibly like Zombie related stuff (My husband does for sure!) Well I’m kind of on the fence with zombie stuff, but I finished this book in a day. I couldn’t put it down. I’ve even recommended this book to several friends. I was surprised at how well everything was described, especially the zombies. I felt like I was right there. I can’t wait for the next book to come out to see what happens next! Keep up the awesome work! =D
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, September 11, 2012 (amazon review)
By Laura
I seriously could not put this down. I can not wait for the second part to come out!!!! Loved it and loved Cale!

p.s. I nearly cried over the brothers.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
4.0 out of 5 stars A new kind of Zombie tale, August 22, 2012 (amazon review)
By Lincoln

Z Plan: Blood on the Sand maybe Mikhail Lerma’s first book but he knows his zombies, and knows how to tell a story by keeping every kill interesting and different. With the main character being deployed in Iraq when the zombie infection begins it sets him on the path to get back home and creates a new genre of zombie stories. Along the way, he keeps finding himself at the wrong place at the wrong time. Some parts are a bit dry but are essential to portray what the character is goIng through, physical and emotionally, but there is no delay to the action that starts the book. This takes zombie books to a place that they havent gone and while “Cale” is in Iraq, he doesn’t stay there long which moves the story along but I somehow wanted to hear more desert experiences. Overall a great book which I blew through in 3 days and I am anxiously waiting for the next installment.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
5.0 out of 5 stars Attention keeper !, August 26, 2012 (This review was removed by amazon for some reason.)
By Librarian 11

I still can not believe I read a Zombie book and absolutely loved it ! I could not put ths down and read it in one afternoon. I think this is amazing for a first time author, I am anxiously awaiting and ready to buy the follow up book. A wonderful mix of reality and fiction, anxious for more………

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Susan Tydings Frushour rated it  5 of 5 stars false (goodreads review, also posted on amazon)

I initially purchased this novel because this is a young, new goodreads author, who asked members to read his book, and quite frankly, he hooked me with an innocent request and an engaging smile on his goodreads profile. His marketing worked, he wrote in genres I like, zombies & post-apocalyptic fiction, although I have felt lately that I had overdosed on zombie novels.

What a treat! Although slow at first, I was rapidly won over, and I’m glad I stuck with the book. Halfway through, I began to appreciate the two main characters, both of whom had depth. There is camaraderie & sorrow initially written in a military setting, but not so detailed with weapons & jargon. Non-military readers will still enjoy the story. It develops into a gut wrenching saga & journey, with good and evil, brutal and yet touching. The main character is likeable & engaging, an honest young man, who wants nothing more than to be able to return to his family, far, far, away. Ingenuity and wits aids him as he attempts to assist the few others he finds along the way. This novel is short, really a novella. I can’t wait to read the rest of the story.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Zombie Fun, August 28, 2012 (amazon review)
By zoomreader

I am a fan of the zombie genre and this book ticked all the boxes for me. Cales’s adventure is a compelling one and I look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, August 25, 2012 (amazon review)
By william oleary (shippensburg, pa United States)

This was one of those books that kept you guessing on what was going to happen next. I am looking forward to a follow up book.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Randy Harmelink rated it 4 of 5 stars false (goodreads review, also posted on amazon)

Although it started out a bit slow for me, once the action started it was a real page turner. Good character development. The plans and changes in plans based on the situations were well thought out and fun to follow. I’m looking forward to a continuation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s